Railways in Worcestershire

Go to content

Main menu:

Photographs
Mail Trains in Worcestershire

MICK ROCK'S OBSERVATIONS

The following data relates to the loco observations hauling the 7.25pm Bristol-Newcastle Mail Train. This train was shown in the working timetable to pass Abbots Wood Junction at 21.08 HRS.

The balanced booked working should be the returning locomotive that hauled the Down 'Devonian' as far as Bristol, where the loco would have come off and would be serviced at either Barrow Road Shed, if steam, or Bath Road, if diesel.

 

1961

5 May 45614 Leeward Isles 14B 21.17 HRS

8 May 45739 Ulster 55A 21.10 HRS

16 May 45639 Raleigh 55A 21.18 HRS

19 May 45562 Alberta 55A 21.17 HRS

26 May 45565 Victoria 55A 21.16 HRS

30 May 45608 Gibraltar 55A 21.18 HRS

02 June 45569 Tasmania 55A 21.13 HRS

6 June 45659 Keyes 55A 21.16 HRS

9 June 45739 Ulster 55A 21.14 HRS

11 June 46137 The Princes of Wales Volunteers (South Lancashire) 9E 21.16 HRS

13 June 44776 21A 21.17 HRS

15 June 45656 Cochrane 41C 21.22 HRS

16 June 45675 Hardy 55A 21.17 HRS

20 June 44660 21A 21.15 HRS

22 June 45569 Tasmania 55A 21.17 HRS

23 June 45639 Ulster 55A 21.15 HRS

27 June 45659 Keyes 55A 21.16 HRS

29 June 45569 Tasmania 55A 21.18 HRS

30 June 45280 21A 21.28 HRS

Sunday 2 July 45654 Hood 41C 21.17 HRS

Tuesday 4 July D31 55A 21.14 HRS

Thursday 6 July D31 55A 21.15 HRS

Friday 7 July D27 55A 21.12 HRS

Sunday 9 July D27 55A 21.29 HRS

Monday 10 July D19 55A 21.15 HRS

Tuesday 11 July D17 55A 21.11 HRS

Wednesday 12 July D20 55A 21.11 HRS

Thursday 13 July D20 55A 21.15 HRS

Friday 14 July D68 17A 21.12 HRS

Sunday 16 July D18 55A 21.26 HRS

Monday 17 July D68 17A 21.14 HRS

Tuesday 18 July D34 82A 21.13 HRS

Wednesday 19 July D34 82A 21.13 HRS

Friday 21 July D34 82A 21.10 HRS

Monday 24 July D14 55A 21.15 HRS

Tuesday 25 July D34 82A 21.13 HRS

Wednesday 26 July D15 55A 21.12 HRS

Thursday27 July D34 82A 21.13 HRS

Friday 28 July D34 82A 21.17 HRS

Monday 31 July D79 17A 21.12 HRS

Tuesday 1 Aug D79 17A 21.13 HRS

Wednesday 2 Aug D79 17A 21.17 HRS

Thursday 3 Aug D79 17A 21.17 HRS

Saturday 5 Aug D34 82A 21.14 HRS

Sunday 6 Aug D29 55A 21.13 HRS

Tuesday 8 Aug D19 55A 21.19 HRS

Thursday 10 Aug D17 55A 21.28 HRS

Friday 11 Aug D17 55A 21.19 HRS

  17 Aug D35 82A 21.13 HRS

  29 Aug D31 55A 21.10 HRS

  4 Sept D29 55A 21.10 HRS

  8 Sept D17 55A 21.12 HRS

  18 Sept D16 55A 21.12 HRS

  19 Sept D24 55A 21.12 HRS

  20 Sept D77 17A 21.11 HRS

  21 Sept D18 55A 21.12 HRS

  22 Sept D24 55A 21.11 HRS

  6 Oct D32 55A 21.12 HRS

  17 Oct 46157 The Royal Artilleryman 21A 21.18 HRS

  3 Nov D25 55A 21.11 HRS

  17 Nov D83 17A 21.08 HRS

  24 Nov D29 55A 21.09 HRS

  1 Dec 46132 The Kings Regiment Liverpool 21A 21.35 HRS

  12 Dec 45659 Keyes 55A 21.27 HRS

  22 Dec D36 82A 22.01 HRS

  28 Dec D118 17A 21.24 HRS

 

1962

  12 Jan D107 17A 21.10 HRS

  16 Jan D20 55A 21.09 HRS

  19 Jan 46103 Royal Scots Fusilier 21A 21.27 HRS

  26 Jan 45564 New South Wales 55A 21.16 HRS

  2 Feb 45685 Barfleur 82E 21.13 HRS

  6 Feb 45597 Barbados 55A 21.29 HRS

  9 Feb 46100 Royal Scot 21A 21.28 HRS

  13 Feb D23 55A 21.21 HRS

  16 Feb 45690 Leander 82E 21.17 HRS

  23 Feb 45685 Barfleur 82E 21.28 HRS

  2 Mar D32 55A 22.05 HRS

  9 Mar 45605 Cyprus 55A 21.13 HRS

  16 Mar D21 55A 21.13 HRS

  23 Mar 45648 Wemyss 17B 21.21 HRS

  30 Mar 46141 The North Staffordshire Regiment 21A 21.15 HRS

  6 Apr 45682 Trafalgar 82E 21.13 HRS

  13 Apr 45690 Leander 82E 21.23 HRS

  19 Apr 45562 Alberta 55A 21.39 HRS

  24 Apr 45597 Barbados 55A 21.25 HRS

  25 Apr 45565 Victoria 55A 21.20 HRS

  26 Apr 45648 Wemyss 17B 21.25 HRS

  1 May 45562 Alberta 55A 21.20 HRS

  2 May 45569 Tasmania 55A 21.19 HRS

  4 May 45682 Trafalgar 82E 21.19 HRS

  8 May D89 17A 21.14 HRS

  9 May 45682 Trafalgar 82E 21.13 HRS

 11 May D26 55A 21.15 HRS

 14 May 45564 New South Wales 55A 21.21 HRS

 15 May D21 55A 21.30 HRS

 16 May 44888 21A 21.15 HRS

 18 May 45639 Raleigh 55A 21.13 HRS

 21 May D83 17A 21.11 HRS

 22 May D30 55A 21.12 HRS

23 May 73170 55A 21.16 HRS

  45685 Barfleur 82E

24 May D108 17A 21.10 HRS

28 May D120 17A 21.28 HRS

30 May D120 17A 21.11 HRS

 1 Jun D21 55A 21.13 HRS

Sun 3 Jun D95 17A 21.11 HRS

Mon 4 Jun 45658 Keyes 55A 21.23 HRS

Tue 5 Jun D26 55A 21.14 HRS

Wed 6 Jun 45569 Tasmania 55A 21.16 HRS

Fri 8 Jun 45659 Drake 55A 21.14 HRS

Sat 9 Jun D21 55A 21.13 HRS

Mon 11 Jun D136 17A 21.13 HRS

Tue 12 Jun D77 17A 21.10 HRS

Wed 13 Jun D136 17A 21.11 HRS

Thu 14 Jun D15 55A 21.12 HRS

Fri 15 Jun 45682 Trafalgar 82E 21.09 HRS

Sat 16 Jun D15 55A 21.08 HRS

Sun 17 Jun D66 17A 21.23 HRS

Mon 18 Jun 45639 Raleigh 55A 21.22 HRS

Tue 19 Jun D112 17A 21.21 HRS

Wed 20 Jun D69 17A 21.16 HRS

Thu 21 Jun D87 17A 21.11 HRS

Fri 22 Jun D108 17A 21.11 HRS

Sat 23 Jun D105 17A 21.10 HRS

Sun 24 Jun D119 17A 21.27 HRS

Mon 25 Jun D14 55A 21.11 HRS

Tue 26 Jun D18 55A 21.17 HRS

Wed 27 Jun D19 55A 21.09 HRS

Thu 28 Jun D18 55A 21.10 HRS

Fri 29 Jun D19 55A 21.09 HRS

 

Diesel motive power had now taken a firm hold and the only other recordings that I have that show steam haulage are as follows.

10 Dec 1962 44818 17B 21.10 HRS

  45685 Barfleur 82E

18 Dec 1962 45682 Trafalgar 82E 21.41 HRS

(This was the last date on which Mick recorded steam traction on this working - ACS)

 

1963

Rare Peak:

04 June 1963 D168 52A 21.12 HRS

Back to content | Back to main menu